I Can’t Believe It’s Not.. PASTA

Standard

Apparently there’s a substitute for pasta: squash

Sounds interesting, I know.  But after learning that it’s a well-known recipe, I had to try it.

I love pasta.  Coming from a large Italian family, it’s in my blood.  But I know it’s not the healthiest thing to eat.

If this substitute works I’m all for it.

Check out this link for helpful step-by-step instructions on how to make Spaghetti Squash

AFTER MATH:

I can’t belive it’s not pasta… because it’s not!

Maybe some people will like it.  Maybe it’s in my blood.  Too good to be true?  Yes!

Spaghetti Squash is not the same as spaghetti.

It also takes time and work to create the “pasta.”

Maybe if you cover it with numerous other ingredients to trick yourself that you’re eating pasta.  But in doing so, the healthy perspective flies out the window.

SO INSTEAD:

If you want pasta, there’s no substitute quite like it.

Use WHOLE GRAIN pasta.  It’s better for you.

Also, eat a smaller portion.  Don’t over indulge.  One bowl of pasta will satisfy you.

Don’t go heavy on the toppings.  Light butter/healthy toppings is all it takes to dress up your pasta.

I’ll be on the look out for more options.

Until then,

Enjoy!

-foodsavysavs

Leave a Reply

