A Satisfying Salad?

Standard

Salad usually isn’t completely satisfying on its own.

And most our made pretty much the same.

I’m not a huge fan of salad, I’ll eat a little portion before dinner, but I don’t crave salad.  Usually.

Being from Chicago, I love Portillos.  And as Portillos lovers know, you can’t get Portillos outside of Chicago. So going to school in Iowa City prevents me from gorging there as frequently as I would like.

Portillos is my exception to not craving salad.  I love their chopped salad.

It has Romaine and Iceberg lettuce, bacon, Gorgonzola cheese, chopped tomatoes, chicken breast, pasta (Ditilini, which I’m usually not a fan of, but it works in this case), green onions, and red cabbage.  You may not be convinced by the ingredients, but trust me, this is delicious!!

I found the recipe for this chopped salad to satisfy my craving while I’m away from http://www.fhs.d211.org/departments/fcs/cparsons/…/08%20Salads.docSimilar–  :

Day 1 Ingredients:

¼ head of lettuce

1/8 piece red cabbage

2 green onions

1 Roma tomato

1 chicken breast

4 strips of bacon

Day 1 Directions:

  1. Line jelly roll pan with foil and bake 4 strips
    of bacon at 350°F for 20 minutes.
  2. Grill chicken breast, once chicken breast is
    grilled dice into small cubes. Store in a small bag.
  3. Slice lettuce and red cabbage very thin.
  4. Slice green onion
  5. In a bag, place lettuce, red cabbage and green
    onion.
  6. Dice Roma tomato and place in a small bag.
  7. Crumble cooled bacon and place in a bag.

Day 2 Ingredients:

Chopped ingredients from day
1

½ c. cooked Ditalini

½ c. house dressing

Day 2 Directions

  1. Place chopped ingredients from day 1 in a large
    bowl (combine, lettuce, red cabbage, green onion, chicken and bacon)
  2. Measure ½ c. cooked ditalini and place in bowl
    with ingredients from day 1.
  3. Lightly toss ingredients and pour dressing over
    salad.
  4. Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

-foodsavysavs

One response »

Leave a Reply

